Domicile Passion

Cleaning and loving my home one day at a time

Simplified dish: Turkey macaroni soup November 28, 2011

Filed under: In the kitchen,Simplified dish — Sheila @ 11:04 pm
Tags: , ,

My family spent Thanksgiving day with the in-laws. And as usual, after family gatherings like this, our refrigerator was full of leftover foods. I could go without cooking in the kitchen for a week!

Leftover turkey meat

But for some reason, heated leftover turkey or ham with rice didn’t sound appealing to me. Inspired by a post on Mel’s Kitchen Cafe, I’ve thought of whipping up simple dishes and incorporating whatever we took home from the Thanksgiving feast.

I love the aroma of sauteed garlic!

The other day, I cooked macaroni and cheese, adding the honey baked ham from the Thanksgiving dinner in place of the ordinary deli-style ham. The honey baked ham brought a bit of sweetness to the cheesy pasta. Delicious!

Today, my son was a bit under the weather. So I decided to make him some good ol’ warm macaroni soup. Never mind that we just ate macaroni soup for lunch at Auntie E.’s house last Sunday. It was so yummy that I want to cook it for us today.

Turkey, good to the bones!

To the macaroni soup, I added the leftover turkey meat, which I have scraped off from the drumstick bone and chopped up. To increase the soup’s flavor, I also sprinkled in beef broth powder. Chicken or beef liquid stock can be used as a substitute. Aside from potato and carrot, other vegetables, like cabbage, can be included.

Chopped carrot

This is my recipe for a simple and easy turkey macaroni soup:


2 cups cooked turkey, chopped

1 lb elbow macaroni

3 pcs carrot, chopped

2 pcs potato, cubed

1/2 pc medium onion, chopped

5 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp beef broth powder (or more, to taste)


black pepper




1. Heat up a bit of oil in a pot on medium high. Saute garlic and onion.

2. Add turkey and cook for about three minutes.

3. Pour about 4 cups of water and the beef broth powder into the pot and let it boil.

Powdered broth adds a bit more flavor to my soups

4. Add the elbow macaroni and simmer for 15 minutes.

5. Add the potato and carrot and simmer for an additional five minutes. Pour more water if needed.

6. Adjust the taste by adding a pinch of salt and black pepper.

7. Serve warm.

For a little creamy sweetness, add milk to the soup.

The li'l one's bowl of turkey macaroni soup

This post is linked up at Mouthwatering Monday.


2 Responses to “Simplified dish: Turkey macaroni soup”

  1. cindyewing Says:


    I am hosting a Holiday Cookie Recipe swap and would love to get the word out to other bloggers to post and share their recipe. I do get good traffic on my site so it would mean traffic for others.

    I would love it if you could share the idea with you blogger friends.

Leave a Reply

