Domicile Passion

Cleaning and loving my home one day at a time

Simplified dish: Pork noodle soup December 1, 2011

Filed under: In the kitchen,Simplified dish — Sheila @ 7:17 pm
Tags: , ,

Pork noodle soup

It’s been cold and windy for the past two days. During days like these, I just want to stay at home, curl under the blankets, and enjoy a warm, comforting soup.

Pork rib tip

I wanted to make a soup out of the thawing pork rib tip on my counter. At first, I was thinking of making another pot of pork sinigang but I didn’t have any spinach or baby bokchoy on hand. Plus, I think I gorged myself already with too much of this sour soup.

I went to search something on my go-to foodie site, Panlasang Pinoy, and came across this batchoy recipe. I still don’t have all the right ingredients, especially the “major” ones like miki noodles and pig’s innards. But I was feeling adventurous today, tried to tweak the recipe and used whatever I have in my pantry and refrigerator. Also, I wanted to incorporate some vegetables into it to make it a one-pot dish.

Frozen mixed vegetables

Pardon me, for those traditionalists out there who may think that I’m butchering the batchoy recipe by changing the ingredients. I do intend to make a more authentic batchoy next time around. For now, please indulge me. Let me experiment in my own kitchen and enjoy a warm delicious soup. (Anyway, as you can see in my post title, I didn’t name my dish “batchoy” for this very reason.)

Here’s my version of batchoy, what I would simply call pork noodle soup:


1 1/2 lb pork

1/2 lb spaghetti noodles

3/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground black pepper

1 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp shrimp paste

1/2 tsp onion powder

2 cups frozen mixed vegetables (e.g. broccoli, cauliflower, corn)

1/2 cup french fried onion

7 cups water


1. Cut the pork into bite size chunks.

2. In a pot, boil the water.

3. Add salt, pepper, sugar, shrimp paste, onion powder and pork. Cook until the pork is tender, about 45 minutes on medium high heat. Adjust the broth’s flavor by adding salt and pepper, if needed.

4. While the pork is cooking, boil another pot of water. To this, add the spaghetti noodles and cook according to the package directions. (Alternately, the noodles can also be added and cooked with the pork after it has tenderized. However, the spaghetti noodles may absorb a lot of the soup later on, so I want to keep them separate until ready to be served. I want a lot of liquid in my noodle soup.)

5. Put the frozen vegetables in a steamer basket and place on top of the pot with the cooking noodles. Keep it there for 5-10 minutes or until the vegetables are heated through. Remove the steamer basket and set aside.

6. When the noodles are al dente, drain and set aside.

7. In individual bowls, place the noodles and vegetables. Add pieces of the pork and ladle a good serving of the warm broth.

8. Top each bowl with some french fried onion.

9. Enjoy!

I’m linking up again at Tasty Tuesday.


2 Responses to “Simplified dish: Pork noodle soup”

  1. Kristine Says:

    I can’t remember which recipe for batchoy I used, but it was good! I had the chicken and pork or beef liver in it.

Leave a Reply

